The Scott County Board of Education poses with its "Board of Distinction" plaque Thursday, Feb. 14.
The Scott County Board of Education poses with its “Board of Distinction” plaque Thursday, Feb. 14.


[php]if( function_exists(‘ADDTOANY_SHARE_SAVE_KIT’) ) { ADDTOANY_SHARE_SAVE_KIT(); }[/php]

HUNTSVILLE — The Scott County Board of Education Thursday picked up its tenth consecutive “Board of Distinction” award from the Tennessee School Boards Association.

The award, presented by TSBA’s East Tennessee representative Mark Treadway, is earned by boards which meet a strict standard of goals in a given school years. Scott Countyís Board of  Education has met those goals for the past 10 years.

The presentation of the TSBA’s “Board of Distinction” award was first on the list of presentations made just prior to the start of Thursday’s regular monthly board meet.

Also recognized were Scott County’s “Teachers of the Year,” both at the school level and the system wide competition for the best teachers in three classifications ó kindergarten to fourth grade; fifth to eighth grade, and ninth through twelfth grade.

The top three, who were chosen by their peers, are Michelle Norris, Winfield Elementary (K-4); Sheila Blakley, Huntsville Middle (5-8); and Jenny Hall, Scott High (9-12).

The S.T.A.N.D. “Student of the Month” at Scott High School for February is Kelvin Wyatt Stephens, son of Kelvin and Elizabeth Stephens of Robbins, and Casey Phillips of Oneida.

Stephens is a SHS senior and an active member of the Chamber of Commerceís Youth Leadership Committee.  Upon graduation, Stephens plans to attend Roane State Community college under the Tennessee Achieves Program He plans to focus on Wildlife Management studies.

Also recognized by the board Thursday were the ìVolunteers of the Monthî from the various school centers.

Only one member of this group, Tia Mayfield, a volunteer at Huntsville Elementary, was present to accept her certificate. Others, unable to attend, included Becky Ellis, Burchfield; Margaret Day, Fairview; Kaprecia Babb, Huntsville Middle; Cheryl  Cross, Robbins; Susan Dunlap, Winfield; and Dollie King, Scott High.

In its regular business session, the board:

• Approved requesting the Scott County Finance Director to solicit bids on food and non-food items, and commodity turkey and chicken on behalf of the Food Services Department;

• On a motion by Esther Abbott and second by Brian Strunk, voted 7-0 to award the current school yearís bread bid to Flowers Baking Co., on the recommendation of Food Services Director Paulette King;

• Voted to renew the service agreement with Anderson Chemical Co. for the Scott High water treatment program at a cost of $182 per month;

• Approved Curtis Bruce, Linda Keeton and Ryan Keeton as the board’s three-member team for negotiations of teacher contracts;

• Voted to allow employees of the Scott  County School System have the option to purchase the state’s vision coverage insurance (EyeMed Vision Care), with participants being responsible for the full premium;

• Retroactively gave its approval for overnight trips for boys and girls basketball teams from Fairview, Burchfield and Winfield Elementary Schools to Pigeon Forge for post-season tournament play;

• Voted to approve on first reading four separate revisions to board policies as recommended by the TSBA. Those policies deal with in-service and professional learning opportunities, compulsory attendance ages, emergency preparedness plan, and student discrimination/harassment and bullying/intimidate.

A second and final reading on the policy revisions is required; and,

• Voted to recess the meeting and reconvene at 6 p.m. on March 5, to award bids on the internet service contract.

The night’s agenda also included a written report of personnel actions taken by Director of Schools Bill Hall since the board’s last meeting.

That list includes hiring the following coaches:

Scott High  Chad Marcum, softball; Tim Hewitt, softball (volunteer); Eric Henry, girls’ and boys’ soccer; Ryan Hoffman, softball (volunteer); Tammy Henry, girls’ and boys’ soccer assistant; Debbie Watts, girls’ cross country and track; Tim Hall, boys’ cross country and track; and Michelle Carson, tennis.

Winfield — Dara Wisner, girls’ and boys’ soccer; Llew Stanley, fooball head coach.

Robbins — Joni Byrd, girlsí soccer; and Johnny West, boysí soccer.

Middle School Level  Joe Carson and Joe Carver, baseball; Cheryl Hutchison and Rex Newport, softball; and Morgan Boyatt, softball (volunteer).

Also hired was Catrina Burton as a substitute cook.

Several position changes also occurred in the Transportation Department:

John Hill was hired as a substitute bus driver; Jesse Crowley’s resignation as a bus driver was accepted; Randal Mason and Louis Huling were both reassigned from substitute to full time bus drivers; and Danielle Rogers was reassigned from full time to substitute bus driver.

And, finally, leaves of absence were approved for Mary Terry, Hannah King, Gail Slaven and  Carol Thompson.